Burn Ban Issued for Canadian County
302 South 5th Street
Yukon, OK 73099
About the Yukon Fire Department
The Yukon Fire Department has highly trained personnel who protect the community 24 hours a day, 365 days per year by providing firefighting, rescue and EMT Paramedic services. “Making a Difference in People’s Lives,” is their motto, and each staff member is charged with finding opportunities to help citizens.
The department’s headquarters is located at 1000 E. Main Street in a stunning 26,000 square foot facility open since 2012. Station 2 is located at 302 South 5th Street, which was built in 1968.
The Yukon Fire Department is home to the first Blue Card Command Training Center in Oklahoma, which offers a classroom environment for firefighters across the state to complete several hours of simulation training. The goal is to standardize emergency response actions by teaching the Blue Card Command training system, as well as provide a controlled environment to prepare for a wide variety of emergencies.
The Yukon Fire Department was organized in 1899 when a group of men volunteered their time to extinguish fires.
It was formally organized as a part of city government on July 6, 1914. At that time, the Yukon City Council approved ordinance #66, which appointed members of the department and assigned duties. Early firefighters used buckets to fight fires and progressed to a hand drawn hose cart around 1900. The equipment was stored on the ground floor of a two-story bandstand at the intersection known today as 5th and Main Street.
Through the years, the department has successfully advanced as the community has grown. That spirit continues today as they anticipate future growth of Yukon and their roles in the protection of lives and property.